Rest of Week Recap & New Curry Recipe

Hi friends! How was the rest of your week? Today was definitely one of those days where I was thinking “TGIF” all day.

I have been pretty busy the past couple of days, thus the disappearance from blogworld.

I am excited to share a new recipe with you today, but first let’s back it up to recap the rest of the week!

I was originally planning to go swimming on Wednesday morning, but I decided that sleep sounded much better at 5:45 am, so back to sleep I went. Instead, I hit up the pool in the evening after babysitting. I much prefer working out in the morning, but I still ended up having a great swim! Here’s what I did:

500 warm-up
100 kick, 100 full stroke, 100 pull, 100 full stroke (x2)
50 breast kick, 50 breaststroke (x2)
2 x 100 fast
4 x 50 fast
8 x 25 fast
Total: 2100 yd

I LOVE swimming! I always forget how much I love it until I get going…I am such a baby about getting in the water.

My aunt texted me to ask if I could babysit on Thursday night, so she and her sister could go to a special event. I was super excited about because I hadn’t seen my cousins in a while, and had been thinking of driving over to see them soon anyway! Babysitting meant no TNT track workout, so I woke up early to do it on my own. I was pretty surprised by how dark it was at 6:00am… luckily many others were out getting their fitness on too, so it wasn’t too scary ;-)

.5mi warm-up
.5 mi at 7:40 min/mile pace, .5 mi easy (repeated 3 times)
total: 3.75 miles

While I was babysitting, my younger cousins and I played “Scene It”…even though it was the jr. edition, I was terrible. Trivia is NOT a strength of mine. It was still fun, though! When my aunt and her sister came home, we had a nice time chatting for a while before I drove back to the city.

Today’s exciting event was a phone interview (!) that I had after-school. It was for a research assistant position, which is what I have been hoping to find for quite some time. The interview went okay, and I should find out more about having an in-person interview next week.

After the interview, I was more than ready for a real lunch (I usually just take snacks to work). I had some zucchini in the fridge that really needed to be used up, so I made some pancakes out of it using this recipe. I had a little less zucchini than the recipe called for, so I scaled everything back a little. I also used all-purpose gluten free flour. Coincidentally, they were perfect St. Patty’s day food, right? I topped them with a mixture of hummus and nutritional yeast (thinned with water). Possibly sounds disgusting? Tastes delicious.

Later, I went to Target in search of some fun necklaces or headbands to wear for tomorrows festivities, but no luck! Their holiday area was all Easter stuff…boo.  After that, I went to the gym where I did a little biking and some strength training.

When I came home from the gym, I got to work on dinner. I actually bought all of these ingredients earlier in the week, but didn’t have a chance to put them together until tonight. It was another experiment, though I loosely based it off of this recipe .

Coconut Curry Cauliflower and Tempeh

Ingredients

- 1/2 tbsp oil (olive, coconut, canola)
-1 yellow onion, diced (I used some that I had previously chopped & frozen, it was probably about a cup’s worth)
-3 small cloves of garlic (or 2 larger)
-1 tsp curry powder
-3/4 tsp paprika
-3/4 tsp cumin
-1/2 tsp ground coriander
-a few shakes of garam masala (optional, more/less to taste)
- sea salt (to taste, I probably used about 1.5tsp)
-large handful of baby carrots, cut into coins 
-1 head cauliflower, chopped into bite size pieces
-1 pkg tempeh, cut into cubes
-1 can lite coconut milk

Directions

-Heat large skillet on medium-high with oil. When hot, add garlic and onion. Stir frequently until fragrant (about 4-5 min).


-Add spices and stir again. Wait about a minute before adding cauliflower, carrots, and tempeh.


-Stir and heat through for about 2-3 more minutes.
-Add coconut milk, lower heat to simmer, and cover for about 20 minutes, or until cauliflower is tender.


-Taste test, and add more spice if you would like. It was fairly mild at first, so I added some more curry powder and cumin.

Note: After 20 minutes, the mix was very liquidy. I spooned out some of the liquid and mixed it with arrowroot starch (you can use corn or any other starch) before adding it back into the skillet for a few minutes to let everything thicken. Next time, I think I would just add more vegetables.

Finally, here are my photo a day challenge photos. Some of them are non-recent because I‘m not creative  circumstances did not allow (see below for more info). I was browsing through my photos from when my friends and I went to Europe last summer tonight, and decided I could go on my own scavenger hunt to find some that fit the days’ challenge. Side note: I want to go back NOW 

Day 14: Clouds
Wednesday was a totally overcast day, which didn’t really allow for any cool cloud pictures…but this one from Switzerland fits the bill, no?

Beautiful, clean air...the Swiss know what's up

Day 15: Car. I’ve had this car since I was 15. It even made the journey with me from Texas to New England!

Trusty old Honda Accord. 8 years and counting!

Day 16: Sunglasses. I have no idea where my sunglasses are at the moment…enter the following picture, also from Europe

Coliseum

I have a TNT run tomorrow morning, then fun St. Patty’s day festivities later in the day (first one in Boston…woo!)

Have a very GREEN Saturday!

3 thoughts on “Rest of Week Recap & New Curry Recipe

  1. Pingback: Home Sweet Home | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

