Quick Road Trip (+ Recipe Page Added!)

Hi Friends!

Excuse the lack of posts this week… as previously mentioned I am at home for April Vacation, and I’m trying to maximize my time with my family and friends :-)

Here are a few updates about what I’ve been up to, along with some info about my new Recipe Page!! (at the end of my post)

Road Trip

I am currently a few towns north of Austin right now, blogging from the corner of a hotel room while the rest of my family is asleep. We drove down earlier this evening because tomorrow we are going to pick up the boat that my dad and step-mom just purchased!!! It’s our first boat, so we’re pretty excited.

On our way down, we stopped at Monument Cafe for dinner. It’s actually located in the town that I spent my freshman year of college at. I had never been there before, but ironically we just saw the cafe was recently featured on Food Network’s Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives! I ordered the house-made veggie burger and it was great!

Siera and I

Papi and Tracy

Other Recent Eats 

I’ve been terrible about taking pictures, but here’s a few recent eats lately….

A few nights ago, I made this Tempeh Spaghetti with my mom

And last night, I made this peanut tofu for my family. I made some extra sauce to put over some steamed mixed veggies…it all turned out wonderfully! The only changes I made were adding a good shake of garlic powder and ginger powder, as well as a squirt of lime juice to the sauce

On Tuesday, Siera and I went to see Hunger Games! When I came home I wanted something fast and easy…this is one of my go-to ‘recipes’.

Sweet Potato with Egg

  • Microwave a sweet potato until soft (5-6 min)
  • Cut in half; scoop out most of the potato (enough for your egg to fit -leave a little potato to surround the skin)
  • Crack an egg into each half, bake at 375 until desired firmness is reached
    *I like my egg yolks runny, so I usually do about 10 min

I also roasted up some brussel sprouts (most of them didn’t reach the plate before entering my mouth…thus the small pictured amount)

I recently tried a new-to-me flavor of Kombucha (Gingerade)

I really liked it! To be honest, it didn’t think it tasted that different from than the other two flavors I’ve tried, but it was still really good. I would love to try making my own sometime; I rarely buy these because they are SO expensive.

Knee Update

Still not feeling great :-(

I have seen my uncle (he’s a chiropractor) since I am at home, and he has helped me a bit by doing some stretches to my quads and muscles behind my knee. 

I am getting really frustrated because I feel like I am doing all I can with icing and stretching, but have not experienced any major improvements.

Recipe Page

I figured that it was time to create a recipe page because I am documenting so much of what I eat/cook on this blog, and I also because am trying to make more of my own recipes.

Have a lovely evening!

Heather

One thought on “Quick Road Trip (+ Recipe Page Added!)

  1. Pingback: Picture Crazy | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

