Picture Crazy

Hello all! Happy Monday.

I’m back in Boston after a wonderful week at home.

Often, I forget to take pictures of things I talk about on this blog, but this weekend I went a bit overboard with the picture-taking. All about balance, right?

Here’s an overview of the rest of my weekend!

Friday 

As I mentioned, I drove down to the Austin area with my family to pick up our new boat. We got the boat in the morning, then spent a good chunk of the day driving back. It was a little stressful, because we had never towed a boat with our car, but we were all very excited! :-) 

When we made it back, I went to see my chiropractor uncle  again (more stretching), which was awesomeeee.

Then, I did a little shopping with my mom. Afterward, we had dinner at Chipotle! I don’t know why, but I have been craving it for months and just haven’t gotten around to going. Must. Go. More. Often!

I got a Hugh Jass salad that contained the following:

  • Black beans
  • Corn salsa
  • Grilled veg
  • Fresh tomato salsa
  • GUAC

Dominated

When I got back from dinner, I finally fulfilled my urge to bake muffins. I had been thinking about doing so all week, but kept running out of time/forgetting. I made these Banana Mango Coconut muffins, with the following changes:

  • Bob’s Red Mill GF flour instead of all-purpose (+2tsp xanthan gum)
  • Flax ‘eggs’ (2tbsp ground flax mixed with 6 tbsp warm water, sit for 10 min) instead of eggs
  • dried apricots instead of dried mango
Yum!

Saturday – Run

After taking so much time off of running, I was determined to make my long run happen. I was nervous about how it would go, and anticipating a lot of knee pain. I set out for my local track, thinking it would be the best surface for my knee. Sure, 7 miles around a track isn’t the most exciting scenery, but with some good music it wasn’t terrible! The track is about 1 mile away from my house, so I completed about 9 miles total.

Optimal running weather

Fortunately, I did not have much pain in my knee at all! Chiropractors = miracle workers? I think yes. Even though I didn’t have a lot of knee pain, the front of my leg (same as knee injury) hurt a bit throughout the run. It was almost like shin splints?? I’ve never had them, so I’m not sure…

When I was in major freak-out mode last week, I was reading up on some other people’s experience with patellar tendonitis, and many mentioned that Vibrams were really helpful because they allow you to run in a way that forces you to have correct form, thereby reducing your risk of injury. As I’ve mentioned before, I used to run in my Vibrams a lot, but unfortunately I had left them in Boston. Anyway, I had this bright idea to see how it would feel on my knee to run barefoot, so I ran 2 laps sans socks and shoes. I thought it felt great, until I went to put my shoes back on…my feet were BURNING (and continued to do so for the rest of the day). Yeah, won’t be doing that again anytime soon.

Today, my knee still feels okay! A little dull/achey, but I had expected much worse.

Saturday – Boating

After my run, plus some much needed stretching, icing and re-fueling, we headed to Lake Texoma to put our boat in the water!!

It was a beautiful day, perfect for taking our first spin. Still a little cold to go in the water, though.

Can’t help myself from thinking of the Red Neck Yacht Club 

Make way for the ducklings!

That evening, I cooked dinner for my mom and dad at my dad’s house. I made them the Maple-Balsamic Sweet Potatoes, Chickpeas, and Kale I made a few weeks ago. They really liked it, although I was a bit disappointed the flavors weren’t as strong this time around.

Sunday

Was spent traveling back to Boston, and catching up with my wonderful roomie.

Today was a bit rough getting back into the swing of things, so I am ready for bed! Goodnight :-)

2 thoughts on “Picture Crazy

  1. Pingback: Why I Love allrecipes.com (+recipes from the week) | bugontherun

  2. Pingback: Why Home (Can Be) Awesome | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

