Creative in the Kitchen

Happy Humpday! I don’t know about you, but this week seems to be flying by!

Today was a fun day at school because I got to work with one of the kiddos that I used to work with at the beginning of the school year, before they hired another aide to work with him. After work, I came home for a quick change/lunch break, then was off to babysit. After that I headed to the gym, where I did some biking and a leg workout.

I got home pretty late, but I was set on concocting up something for dinner tonight. I bought more kale than I should have on Monday (I’m leaving on Friday for the weekend), so in an effort to use up a good chunk waste, kale was a feature ingredient in tonight’s dinner.

I don’t normally experiment too much in the kitchen. I really like to look at recipes, then follow them to a T. This is mostly because I don’t really trust myself to throw things together and have them come out tasting decent. There is also something about precisely measuring out ingredients that is very calming to me, especially when it comes to baking.

However, tonight was different! I knew roughly what ingredients I wanted to use, and pretty much just guestimated the amounts that I thought would be necessary for the dish to taste good…surprisingly, it worked! Here’s what I came up with…

Maple-Balsalmic Sweet Potatoes, Chickpeas, and Kale

Ingredients

-2 large sweet potatoes
-1 can chickpeas
-Several stalks of kale (I used about 6)
– 1.5 TBSP earth balance (or butter)
-1.5 TBSP maple syrup
-1.5 TBSP balsamic vinegar (more or less to taste)
-Sea salt

Directions

-Preheat oven to 400. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with olive oil/cooking spray
-Scrub sweet potatoes and cut into bite-sized chunks (I left skin on); place on baking sheet
-Drain and rinse chickpeas. Pat dry. Place on sheet with sweet potatoes.
-Spray chickpeas and sweet potatoes with more olive oil cooking spray, and sprinkle with sea salt
-Bake about 30 minutes, or until sweet potatoes are tender. Stir halfway through baking time.

-In the mean time, wash kale and tear into bite size pieces. Steam the kale on the stovetop in a large pan.
-When kale is done, drain and rinse with cool water. Return to pan.
-With the burner at low heat, add cooked sweet potatoes and chickpeas, then add remaining ingredients. Adjust amounts to taste.

Photo a Day Challenge
Day 7 – Something You Wore

Compression Socks! Love.

Currently wearing these. They are supposed to be great for aiding in muscle recovery and reducing soreness because they increase blood flow. I also just really like the feel of them…I wore them for a 12 hour car trip this summer 😉

Goodnight!

4 thoughts on “Creative in the Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Busy Bee | bugontherun

  2. Pingback: Rest of Week Recap & New Curry Recipe | bugontherun

  3. Pingback: Picture Crazy | bugontherun

  4. Pingback: Vegetarian Success! | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

