Running Goals

Hellooooooooo! How was the rest of your week?

Mine was pretty good! Here’s a quick recap:

Wednesday

I found out that I got a second interview for the job I phone-interviewed for on Friday! I’m going to the second interview on Monday. I’m actually not sure if the position is exactly what I’m interested in, but I’m going to keep an open mind about it. Also, I went on a date (!)…butttttt it turned out to be a huge bust. Win some, lose some.

Thursday

Thursday was my student’s birthday! He had a great day. I’ve really started to bond with him the past couple of months…I’m going to miss him when the school year ends. This might also have to do with the fact that he’s  made a lot of improvements in different areas and become a lot easier to work with everyday. After work, I drove down to my grandparents’ house to take my car to a repair shop to have a handle fixed on one of my car doors (it wouldn’t open from the outside). Then, I did my track workout at a nearby track (more on this below).

Friday

I finally had a dermatology appointment (that I’d made 3+ months ago). I have had eczema that comes and goes on my hands for years, but had never been to a real dermatologist to confirm the diagnosis or get treatment. She prescribed some steroid cream for me, and though I’m not too psyched about using it, I’m going to give it a try for 2 weeks as per her recommendation. After the appointment, I went swimming! Today was a great day to go because I didn’t have to worry about feeling cold before/after 🙂

Here’s what I did today

  • 500yd warm-up
  • 50 breast kick, 50 breast stroke (x2)
  • 100 free kick, 100 free, 100 pull, 100 free (x2)
  • Ladder – 100, 50, 25, 25, 50, 100; fast-pace
  • 50 back kick, 50 backstroke (x2)
  • 50 cool-down
  • Total: 2100 yd

I definitely want to start incorporating breaststroke and backstroke more to balance things out… my form in these strokes has not been worked on in a longgg time

Currently, I’m watching some Friends and planning an early bedtime staying up unnecessarily late so I’ll be well-rested tired for TNT practice tomorrow!

Running Goals

Last night I wore my Garmin while I was doing my track workout. I haven’t done speed intervals a) on my own/without a treadmill, or b) with my Garmin in a long time, so I was curious to see how fast my sprints were. I was surprised to discover they were a lot faster than I expected them to be!! Although I haven’t (nor do I plan to) set any goals as far as time goes for the marathon, I’d really like to push myself to see if I can make a new PR in my 5k time. There are a ton of 5k races in my hometown area on one of the weekends I’ll be home in Texas in a few weeks, so I’m going to pick one soon and go for it!

*Blog Update:


I’ve created categories which you will see on the right-hand side of my homepage. I’ll be adding more as I think of them.

Photo a Day Pics

Day 21: Delicious

+ PB = heaven

Day 22: Kitchen Sink

Nothin' fancy, but at least it's clean

Day 23: Moon – sorry, no dice on this one…can’t see the moon from where I am!

Have a happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

