Taking the Plunge – My First Ice Bath Experience

Hi friends! How was your weekend? Mine was just fab! Much to talk about so let’s get to it!

Saturday

The TNT run was scheduled to be 105 minutes this week, which is the longest I’ve run in probably at least 6 months. We ran in the city today instead of along the Charles, but it was very nice; the streets were oddly quiet and peaceful. I felt great for about the first 6 miles, but around that point my left knee started to bug me. I have had patellar tendonitis in the past, and I could tell instantly that it was the same sensation. 😦

When I was training for the half marathons I did, I had read a lot about the benefits of ice baths, but never really had any desire to try one. Our coaches have talked about them at our recent practices, and I was starting to “warm up” to the idea. I was actually planning to wait until our runs got a bit longer, but as soon as I felt the knee pain I decided it wouldn’t be bad idea to give ice bathing a shot ASAP.  One of my teammates has done it before and recommended just using really cold water (no ice) and keeping my clothes on. So, when I got back from practice, I filled up the tub and hopped right in slowly and painfully entered.

Chillayyyyy

Once I got in, I was surprised to discover it was not nearly as bad as I thought it’d be!

Sure I was cold, but it wasn’t to the point where I could only think about getting out of the tub (which I had expected would be the case). I also distracted myself by using my phone to read up on ice-bathing and the time passed pretty quickly.

From what I read, after ice bathing it’s best to let your body and muscles warm themselves up on their own for at least 20-30 minutes before showering with hot water. I got out of the tub after about 20 minutes, had something to eat while cuddled up under a blanket,  then took a nice hot shower. Another tip that I read that I will use next time I take an ice bath is to drink a hot beverage while in the tub.  After my shower, I took a gloriously long nap (a.k.a. my favorite post-long run activity).

On Saturday night, one of my college friends, Lindsay, drove down to hang out. We went to dinner with another friend who we hadn’t seen in forever, so it was really nice to catch up with her. After that, Lindsay and I went to a couple of different bars to meet up with some other friends. I hadn’t been to either of them before, but they were a lot of fun! I can’t wait to get back once the weather is warm for good – they’re right on the water and had a lot of outdoor space for hanging out!

Sunday

I slept in pretty late for me, which was awesome/necessary. After some much needed stretching and breakfast-ing (recipe tomorrow!), Lindsay and I headed out to the mall. I get burned out from shopping pretty easily was a littttle overly ambitious about what I thought I wanted to buy, but I did end up with a few great things!

Later in the day, I went to the gym to do a quick run to loosen up my muscles. I definitely still felt the knee pain a little, so my plan for the week is lots of stretching, foam rolling, and ice. The good news is, other than my knee, I don’t feel very sore at all! Three cheers for ice baths!

That’s all I’ve got for today; I’m off to bed! Have a good Monday!

Photo a Day Challenge

Day 24: Animal

I didn’t encounter any animals on this day, but here’s a pic of my kitty cat (in TX)

Miss you, Fat Pete

Day 25: Breakfast (recipe to come tomorrow!)

Ingredients for Goodness

3 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge – My First Ice Bath Experience

  1. Pingback: It’s Backkkkk | bugontherun

  2. Pingback: Easter Weekend 2012 | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

