Why I Love allrecipes.com (+recipes from the week)

Hello friends!

Hope you had a good week; I was sure TGIF-ing this today.

This week was pretty uneventful for me, but I am excited to share with you some recipes I made this week! I’ll also give a quick knee update and kid quote at the end of this post.

First up, we have:

Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup from allrecipes.com 

I typically find most of my recipes from the blogs I read , but I love to use allrecipes when I have an idea of what I want to make, but am unsure of the proportions of ingredients to put together.

Once I find the recipes that match what I’m looking for, I look at the number of reviews and how many stars each recipe has been given, and usually pick the one that has the best combination of those thingsThen, I click on the recipe’s review, and sort the reviews by “most helpful“. I usually read the first few reviews, and incorporate tips/changes that people have found helpful.

I have no idea what I was looking for when I bookmarked this recipe (it was a while ago) but I’m glad I did!! It it was absolutely fantastic and surprisingly simple! I halved the recipe, and changed a couple of other things. Here’s what I ended up with

  • 3 c vegetable broth
  • 1 c red lentils
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • Large handful of baby carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp ground cumin
  • lemon juice for garnish

Directions 

1. Put veggie broth in lentils in a large pot, bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and cover and simmer for about 20 minutes.

2. Saute garlic, onion, and carrot in olive oil until onion is translucent.

3. After the 20 minutes, stir the onion mixture and cumin into the lentils and continue cooking until lentils are soft (mine were already soft after 20 minutes, but I let it keep cooking anyway to soften the carrot & onion some more)

4. Blend soup if desired – totally NOT necessary… I blended mine a bit, but wanted to leave a little texture

5. Stir in a big squeeze of lemon juice if desired & serve!

*I tried the soup with and without the lemon juice and honestly cannot decide which way I prefer it – both are great!

Served w/sides of brussel sprouts and sweet potato fries

The other recipe I made this week was a take on Southwest Potato Salad. I found this recipe one day while I was looking at Food Buzz Top 9

I’ve noted my changes here, but please see the original recipe for the directions!

  • 1 1/2 lbs baby red potatoes, scrubbed and quartered
  • 1 cup frozen sweet peas, thawed  1.25 cup frozen shelled edamame
  • 1 avocado
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, minced (veins and seeds removed if you don’t want it spicy)
  • 2 Tbsp cilantro, minced  3 dorot cubes cilantro(= 1tbsp)
  • 3/4 cup frozen corn (I used Trader Joe’s fire roasted)
  • 1/4 tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Edamame, avocado, lime juice, salt

Smooth & creamy

Red onion, cilantro cubes, fire-roasted corn

All together and done!

Fabulous! 

Knee Update

Last week, even after my long run, my knee felt pretty good. After going to physical therapy on Monday, it was pretty sore and didn’t feel quite right when I ran on Tuesday. Actually, it’s felt a little off the whole week… I wouldn’t say it’s painful , but more uncomfortable and I can tell it’s still not totally healed. I pretty frustrated/discouraged because I’ve been doing my recommended exercises, stretches, and icing and really haven’t been running that much. I’m going to try going the TNT run tomorrow, but I’m not expecting to get through the whole 160 minutes of it. I am getting worried that with the marathon so close, I won’t be prepared if I don’t do these next few training runs.

Kid Quote 

This isn’t a long one, but I still thought it was worth sharing…

Out of the blue, the forth grader I work with came up to me (somewhat privately) and said,

“Hey, so, um what’s a Kardashian?”

After I controlled a bit of laughter, I told him they’re a ridiculous celebrity family that people sometimes like to gossip about.

Questions:

What is your favorite way to find recipes?

What would you have said if asked what a Kardashian was?

Have a wonderful weekend! 

Leave a Reply

