Great Weekend, Bad Day

Hello everyone! Happy Monday!!

Did you have a good weekend?? Mine was very nice, even though I wasn’t able celebrate Mother’s Day with my mom.

Long Run Recap 

The Saturday’s run went somewhat better than I expected! First of all, 18 miles is my longest distance to run – ever – which is awesome to begin with! It was also the longest run before the marathon (June 3). Taper time!

It was warm outside. Much warmer than we’re used to, but not terribly hot. Probably good practice for San Diego weather!   Salty!!! Wow…I was covered like never before.  The last 3 miles were HARD. More because my knee hurt than lack of endurance. This gives me mixed feelings – I’m worried my knee will act up the day of if it started to bother me after only 15 miles. However, since the mileage will be a lot lower the next two weeks, maybe it will be okay by then…? Also, it’s good to know that I didn’t hit a mental block after this long.

I’m actually feeling pretty good today. I can feel some twinge in my knee, but not as bad as I thought it would be considering how I felt on Saturday. I got a massage yesterday and have been stretching like crazy, so I’m sure both of those factors have contributed to how I feel now.

Fun Fundraiser!

Most of day Saturday was spent recovering (icing, eating, sleeping) but by the evening I was ready for some time out with some fun people!

One of my teammates had an AWESOME fundraiser in Boston. She really did an amazing job coordinating the event and seeking out items to raffle/auction. I was so glad I was able to go, especially because I haven’t really been able to make it to any of the other social outings (which I’m even more bummed about now after having had hung out with these great people all night).

YAYYY TNT!

It was a lot of fun, but boy was I ready to crash by the time the night ended!!

Sunday

I had a very relaxing day, which was just what I needed. As I mentioned, I had a massage (thanks, Groupon!) which was nice, except not what I was expecting. I had scheduled a sports massage with the hope of loosening up my knotted muscles, but I guess there was some type of error, so it ended up being more of a regular massage.

Monday (a.k.a. Bad Day)

Today was not great. It actually wasn’t terrible overall, but it was one of those “one thing ruins your whole day” situations. It’s kind of a long story, but basically my travel plans for the marathon are all sorts of messed up. A few months ago, I put in a request to have the Friday before and Monday after off, because I intended to travel with the team. The days weren’t approved by HR. My supervisor and principal had no problem with the request, so I spent a few weeks going back and forth with different people trying to figure out if there was any way they could make an exception. I was told that if I didn’t show up on the two days, my contract would be terminated. Eventually, I talked to the person who is the  head of the union at our school, and she got me the final answer today that there is no way it is going to happen.

Obviously, I feel like an idiot for not having cleared this sooner. In my defense, I really had no idea that TWO DAYS would be that big of a deal. Lesson learned. Regardless, the whole situation is ridiculous. Mostly because now in addition to all of the extra money I’m going to have to pay to cover the difference of my fundraising minimum, I’m going to have to pay out of pocket to book different (EXPENSIVE!) flights that will allow me to be present at school on Friday & Monday.

It further irritates me that they aren’t even considering the needs of the child! There is no way they would hire a new person for him for the last 2 weeks of school, and a sub would be incredibly expensive for that amount of time. UGH!!! 

Ok. end rant.

By the way, if you are able, both myself and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society would appreciate any donation you can make! Find my fundraising page here! 

Ending on a Good Note 

One nice thing that happened today was that my babysitting gig got canceled (sick kid), so I had an unexpected  night off. After I calmed down from a very emotional afternoon, I spent time finding some jobs to apply to for the fall, as well as doing one of my favorite things: baking!

I had some yeast that I bought a while back to make something with (don’t even remember what now?), and randomly I came across it today. I looked through my bookmarked recipes, and found one that sounded like a good idea to try!

I made these english muffins. Yum! I was impressed that they came out well – baking with yeast always seems so daunting 😉

Do you ever bake with yeast? If so, what do you like to make?

Andddd now I’m off to foam roll and hit the hayGoodnight!

One thought on “Great Weekend, Bad Day

  1. Pingback: So much “Friends” | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

