Vegetarian Success!

Hello friends!

Today I am excited to share new recipes I have made lately!

I am especially excited because one of them was an actual experimentation, and another was approved / enjoyed by my extremely picky grandpa who does not really seem to understand vegetarianism.
Recipe 1: Lemon Cilantro Cannellini Burgers 

I changed a few things in this recipe to work with what I had on hand. I am happy to report the burgers came out fantastically! I’ve noted my changes below, but you can find the original recipe by clicking on the link above.

  • 1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 large handful of fresh cilantro, chopped2 cilantro dorot cubes 
  • 1/4 cup oatbran1/4 cup rolled oats 
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs1/2 cup crushed crisp brown rice cereal (I used this brand
  • 1 egg
  • 2 TBS of lemon juice
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • A generous drizzle of olive oil
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Loved the easy directions – mash everything together and fry!!

I really enjoyed the texture and flavor. I think I would probably add a little more lemon juice next time though, because I didn’t really taste the lemon at all in the leftovers.

 

Recipe 2: Lemon Quinoa w/ Zucchini and Chickpeas  < Grandpa approved!

When I was brainstorming ideas of what I could make for dinner at my grandparents, I had a few requirements. I wanted it to involve quinoa (aka veg protein), have no exotic flavors (palatable to everyone), and be easy to prepare. I used recipage.com to find the winner!

Sauteing onion

Prepping ingredients

All together….

Done! And delicious.

I didn’t change a thing about this recipe except for omitting the lemon zest – there was enough lemon flavor with out it!

Too cute

 

Recipe 3: Tempeh and Broccoli

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a long time now, and just got around to it. I really like tempeh, so I’m not sure what took me so long!

I served it on top of quinoa. It was a little sweeter than I had expected/wanted, but overall very good! Maybe a little less agave next time?

 

Recipe 4: Black Bean and Corn Salad < experimentation!

Ingredients

  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups fire-roasted corn (or any other corn)
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • 2 cilantro dorot cubes (or fresh chopped cilantro)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 4 tbsp apple cider vinegar (you may want to use a little less…)
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions: Mix all together, and let it sit in fridge! The longer it sits, the more the flavor will develop

 

Wow that was a lot of food at once!

Have a wonderful night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

