Smoothiesssss

Hi friends! 

This post IS about smoothies, but I just wanted to give you a little update on my life status first.

1. Yesterday was my last day at school. I don’t think it’s really hit me yet, but I am definitely going to miss the kiddos. Fortunately, the student I was primarily an aide to is going to my summer camp, so I won’t have to suffer from too much separation anxiety 🙂

2. I am at home! I came back to the grand ole state of Texas last night and I will be here until Sunday so that I can be back for some camp trainings.

3. My runner envy is out of control. Runners are EVERYWHERE in the nice weather. Two more weeks of my self- imposed hiatus from running! Knee better be ready.
Ok, so…remember that time I said I would post soon about smoothies? Whoops! Better late than never 🙂

Smoothies are my very favorite thing for getting a lot of nutrients in each morning. I really feel like I have more energy when I have a smoothie for breakfast compared to other things I might have for breakfast. Plus, they’re so portable, versatile, and QUICK! 

In general, I use the same measurements of ingredients, but mix up the flavors a bit. Here’s my standard “recipe”

Favorite Smoothie Combos

Ingredients 

  • 1/2 a frozen banana (wait until they are REALLY ripe, then break into chunks and freeze)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup frozen fruit (strawberries, blueberries, peaches, etc)
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 2 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 scoop protein powder (current fave is Sun Warrior Blend)
  • 1 tbsp nut butter OR 2 tbsp whole nuts
  • handful of spinach or kale (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp guar and/or xanthan gum (optional – makes smoothie thick)

Sometimes I add cocoa powder or cinnamon depending on the other ingredients. I also sometimes add a few drops of liquid stevia after taste-testing – sometimes I add a bit more spinach than I mean to – but usually the combination of fruit and protein powder makes it sweet enough.

The great thing about this recipe is that it is really adaptable. You can really use whatever fruit you want (sometimes I do a whole banana and no other fruit), and things like the flax, oats, protein powder, and nut butter can be omitted if you don’t have them or are looking for a lighter snack versus a whole meal.

Steps

1. In this order, add frozen fruits, flax, oats, nuts/nut butter, spinach/kale, almond milk

2. Blend! Stop to stir if needed.

3. Add protein powder, pulse a few times then allow to blend completely

4. Taste test, add stevia if desired.

5. Add guar/xanthan gums (if using) and blend until desired consistency is reached.

And visually…

I realize the color of this smoothie is a bit disgusting (this is due to the spinach), but I promise you won’t think a thing of it after you taste it! 😉 Also, cocoa powder/choco protein powder can help mask the color if it really freaks ya out at first.

Happy smoothie making! Let me know if you try any stellar flavor combos!

Leave a Reply

