GF Cauliflower Crust Pizza & Cookies..+New Finds!

As I mentioned yesterday, while I was at home last week I tried a few new foodie things.

First up was a Cauliflower Pizza Crust that I found here from Meals and Moves. I had been wanting to try for a while. I think I had a mind-block that this was going to be very involved recipe, but it turned out to be really easy! Definitely will be making this again.

I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, but I used Daiya (mozzarella flavor)  instead of real cheese.

Pureeing cauliflower

Ready for Mixin’!

Post-baking

Toppings! Red onion, bell pepper, spinach, mushrooms, and 1/2 with parmesan for the father

I sort of expected the recipe to yield more, but it was the perfect amount for my dad and I. Yum!!!

Next up was Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies that I found here (FYI – this blog has a TON of amazing- looking GF recipes…will be revisiting again very soon 🙂 ) They turned out AWESOME! 

Dry & Wet

Now onto the new-to-me things I found at the local grocery store….

Santa Claus Melon 

Looks like a Squash?

Tastes like Candy!

really like melon. All melons. I was a bit apprehensive about buying this melon because I didn’t know anything about it and there is nothing more disappointing than cutting into an under-ripe melon. This was definitely not the case for this melon, though! I am so glad I tired it…really may be one of my new favorites! So sweet.

Tempeh Bacon

Another thing I came across in the store was Lightlife’s Fakin Bacon. I know making your own ‘bacon’ from tempeh is pretty easy, but I thought for convenience’s sake I’d give this a shot first. I really enjoyed it, and surprisingly, so did my dad! It really was simple – just put it on the pan.

My only qualm is that it is not actually gluten-free – the soy sauce they use contains wheat. Side note – a few nights ago I had Chinese food and I think I went on soy sauce overload – I had a huge headache later…maybe because of gluten?? No idea.

Anyway, I’m sure this product only contains a very small amount because I felt fine after, but it would be just as easy to make on my own.

 

I’m off to shower and hit the hay! Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

