Biking around Boston (+back to running?)

Hi friends! 

Once again, it’s been a little while…sorry!

2 pieces of exciting news on the fitness front.

Biking

First, I am happy to report that after over 6 months of having my bike parked in my living room, I finally bit the bullet and rode it here! 

Craigslist beauty

I was really nervous about riding around the city streets of Boston, even though there are literally people out doing just that ALL the time, and there are many bike lanes in my area.

After getting a series of parking tickets over the past couple of weeks (I don’t wanna talk about it – basically I’m an idiot), I was extra motivated to take out the bike.

So far I have ridden to Starbucks, the gym, and a Farmer’s Market! I love how easy it is to get around via bike and not have to worry about parking. Why it took me so long to figure this out is beyond me.

Unfortunately, my body is not quite up to par when it comes to biking; especially around here with so many hills! But it’s a good challenge and I know it’s helping to build up my muscles that will in turn probably help me recover my knee.

Running

Secondly, I think I am ready to get back into running! It has been hard, especially with seeing so many runners out lately, but I have taken a full 4 weeks off  and I am ready to start trying again.

Last night was my debut 2 miler, and let me tell you it was not easy. It’s been quite hot here lately. We don’t have AC in our apartment, and when I came back I was literally dripping in sweat...I’m not sure I’ve ever sweat that much in my life. Honestly.

In addition, my route was a bit hillier than I had wanted it to be, so I’ll be scoping out a flater area for next time.

During the run, I did have some pain, but I made sure to stretch and ice a lot afterward and today I felt pretty okay.

My PT gave me the clearance to run today when I saw her, but said to keep it at 2 miles for now and do “dynamic stretching” (going to google that one later…).

With just about 8 weeks until my next planned race, the Providence Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon, I’m not feeling terribly optimistic. I’m going to give it my best shot though!

 

2 thoughts on “Biking around Boston (+back to running?)

  1. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Lately #2…w/recipes! | bugontherun

  2. Pingback: Beach Lovin’ & 5 mile success | bugontherun

Leave a Reply

