Recipe Share – Tofu Marinara Casserole

Just popping into share a recipe!

This is one I’ve made before, but not posted about. I prefer trying new recipes over making ones I’ve already made, as I am constantly bookmarking new recipes.

Anyway, the fact that this is my third time making this is an indication that it’s definitely a good one!

The link to the original recipe can be found here, and I am reposting it with some notes and the modifications I made. Enjoy!!

Tofu Marinara Casserole

Makes 5-6 servings, which I love because leftovers are my fave 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 block extra firm tofu, pressed for at least 2 hours
  • 2 tsp freeze dried basil
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 3-4 cloves fresh garlic, grated
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 15 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 15 oz can pizza sauce (can sub tomato sauce) – I used tomato sauce this time around, but in my opinion it is WAY BETTER w/ pizza sauce, so use that if possible!
  • 2 cups of steamed spaghetti squash
  • 4 oz whole wheat pasta of any kind, I used TJ’s Brown Rice Fusili 
  • as much parmesan cheese as you want I used Nutritional Yeast
  • salt & pepper

Directions

***I pre-cooked my spaghetti squash and pasta, but feel free to do those steps at any point if you are good at multi-tasking (I’m not)

1.Heat oven to 375. In a bowl, shred tofu into crumbles using a fork or grater, then add the basil (in my pictures you will see I tried to use a food processor…don’t do that, it gets too creamy)

2. Heat olive oil in a large skillet (medium heat). When hot, add onion and garlic.

3. After onion and garlic are soft (5-10 min), add the tofu to the skillet

4. Add tomatoes and pizza sauce to skillet, season with S&P

5. In a bowl, combine skillet mixture, spaghetti squash, pasta, and nutritional yeast.

6. Dump this into an 8×8 pan and bake for about 20 minutes 

2 thoughts on “Recipe Share – Tofu Marinara Casserole

Leave a Reply

